| |
| |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
| |
|
| :: |
| Author |
Message |
PopJaguar
Joined: 19 Sep 2006 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 10:09 am Post subject: Banned by Yahoo? |
|
|
During the last 6 years I have created over 70 portals and mini portals and big
was the shock when I had a 40% traffic drop on last saturday. I checked Yahoo
and found out that all our sites were out of Yahoo without a clear reason. Even more odd is this, the only site still in Google is a site which had different
whois information was it was bought by a good friend of mine.
I have no idea what happened or if my sites are banned for some unknown
reason so any help or feedback is welcome.
Ron Fonteine, ugamedia.com |
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
 |
dcz Administrateur - Site Admin

Joined: 28 Apr 2006 Posts: 13994
|
Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 12:05 pm Post subject: Re: Banned by Yahoo? |
|
|
I understand the shock, jeez, 40%, where they all coming from yahoo ?
Because if so, this would be the best ever ratio I have seen for yahoo, I never got over 10 or 20% visitors from yahoo.
So it appears something is really happeneing, because there is something else I rarely saw is Yahoo Backlinks (22) being fewer that Google (2140).
And indeed yahoo is only listing one page for now.
The fact though your homepage is here cached makes me believe your site was not blacklisted as I don't think they'd partially blacklist.
I'd say it's likely to be some trouble yahoo side that could get fixed by itself, but I think it would be a good thing to write them a very gentle mail where you briefly explain the issue and ask if you did anything wrong or if it's a technical and temporary matter.
It's not sure you'll get any answer, and I never wrote mail to yahoo, but it helped me sometimes to write a gentle mail to Google.
A member of this site who had auto blacklisted his web site (yes it's possible) at Google had his web site listed again in 3 weeks without any PageRank loss after he had sent a gentle mail telling he mistaken and that his site was honest and etc ...
They did not reply, but 3 weeks delay and no PageRank loss show us they did something as auto blacklisted web-sites are only re checked after 6 month as stated in their TOS.
Then, if we start searching for other reasons, it would be interesting to know if all those web site are hosted on the same IP and / or IP class, how much and how are they interlinked and related (for Google it could be up to running the same AdSense or Analytics Account).
The idea behind this would be to evaluate if some filter attempting to fight against what could be an attempts to trick search engine, kind of like if using satellite pages, but with entire web sites (you create one web site and many related ones, being more than a satellite page, but not enough different so we know it the same project for all of them).
But this is purely theoretical at this stage.
Another thing is, did you pay your yahoo submission ?
Because what is for sure is you get better results if you pay (more cached pages and faster crawl) and if yahoo was providing 40% of your visitor, well, I won't say they could have think they where losing money, but who knows ...
++ |
_________________ Useful links :
SEO Forum || SEO Directory || SEO phpBB || SEO phpBB3 || Search
____________________
Liens Utiles :
Forum référencement || Annuaire référencement || Référencement phpBB || Référencement phpBB3 || Recherche |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
| Navigation |
Similar Topics |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
| |