Something very wrong with my google results

Discussions about the phpBB3 Forum. How to get the best from this powerful script.
Note that there is no official support for phpBB3 here, a place to share more than to ask for.

Moderator: Moderators

Something very wrong with my google results

Postby GoBieN » Tue Jul 29, 2008 8:54 am

Hey,

I have phpBB 3.0.2 with latest Seo-mod (advanced) and GYM sitemaps/RSS.
I have set virtual root, virtual folder. Zero dupe and no dupe are on.

The problem is that when i go see my results in google for the important keywords, my site is no longer on 1st or 2nd but way lower.

This happens because everytime google tries to index my page they get an error saying they are not allowed to use the search function ?

look here:
http://64.233.183.104/search?q=cache:3L ... cd=1&gl=be

Informatie
Sorry maar u wordt niet toegelaten om het zoekssysteem te gebruiken.
english translation:
Information
Sorry you are not allowed to use the search function.


When i check all the results from my site, they are all like that:
http://www.google.be/search?aq=f&hl=en& ... eken&meta=

Please advise ?
GoBieN
PR1
PR1
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:12 pm
Location: Belgium

Advertisement

Postby GoBieN » Tue Jul 29, 2008 10:32 am

what i have done now is changed the permisions for bots so that they are allowed to use search function. But this can't be standard behaviour, something must have gone wrong, somewhere.
GoBieN
PR1
PR1
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:12 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby dcz » Wed Jul 30, 2008 8:07 am

By default search pages and profiles are not public on phpBB3.
If you make them available for bots, I advise you to as well make these available for guests to be sure you won't be cloaking the Search engines.

But, the worst thing is that, as a matter of fact, http://www.google.com/search?q=cache:ww ... forum.html
bots do not have access to your forum index :shock:

You should fix the bots auth ASAP, and provide them with the same auth as guest (it's the safest).

++
Useful links :
SEO Forum || SEO Directory || SEO phpBB || Search
____________________

Liens Utiles :
Forum référencement || Annuaire référencement || Référencement phpBB || Recherche
dcz
Admin
Admin
 
Posts: 21325
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 9:03 pm

Postby GoBieN » Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:21 pm

But WHY is the forum telling the bot, it is not allowed to use the search function ?

i changed nothing to the settings that could cause this ?
GoBieN
PR1
PR1
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:12 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby SeO » Fri Aug 01, 2008 11:43 am

For the search function, it's by default on phpBB3 that bots cannot access it, same for user profiles.
SeO
Admin
Admin
 
Posts: 6334
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 9:41 pm

Postby GoBieN » Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:29 pm

SeO wrote:For the search function, it's by default on phpBB3 that bots cannot access it, same for user profiles.


But why would they get an error about the search function on the forum index and every other page ?

This can't be normal behaviour !
GoBieN
PR1
PR1
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:12 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby SeO » Sat Aug 02, 2008 11:13 pm

Well what occurs is that people trying to view the search results pages (including user posts pages) when they don't have enough right to will fell on the login box with a HTTP 302 header.

For some reason, while Google will in such case keep the original url in mind (since 302 means that the uri exists) it will still apply the disallow set in the robots.txt for the login page :
Code: Select all
Disallow: /phpBB3/ucp.php


The good thing about this when everything is set fine is that bots won't repeatedly cache the login page under zillions of different urls.
SeO
Admin
Admin
 
Posts: 6334
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 9:41 pm

Postby GoBieN » Sun Aug 03, 2008 9:48 am

Let me make myself more clear.

Why would google get a error about not allow to search on these pages:

www.camino-tuning.be/forum.html <-- forum index (no logn box, no search page no profile ... just the plain index) but google got error anyway !

www.camino-tuning.be/koop-f5/ <-- subforum nr5 index -> error

www.camino-tuning.be/filmpjes-galerij-f27 <-- subforum nr 27 index -> error


I don't see any reason why google bot would get an error about not being allowed to search, when the bot is NOWHERE NEAR the search page.
GoBieN
PR1
PR1
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:12 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby dcz » Mon Aug 04, 2008 9:07 am

Well yes, but the result is the same if these pages are not available for bots, bots see the login page or an info page with the same HTTP 302 header when trying to browse private forums :

http://www.google.com/search?q=cache:ww ... e/koop-f5/
Useful links :
SEO Forum || SEO Directory || SEO phpBB || Search
____________________

Liens Utiles :
Forum référencement || Annuaire référencement || Référencement phpBB || Recherche
dcz
Admin
Admin
 
Posts: 21325
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 9:03 pm

Postby GoBieN » Mon Aug 04, 2008 9:45 pm

But my question is how come this happend ?

Your reaction seem to indicate this is normal behaviour, i can not believe it would be normal to get an error on the index.
GoBieN
PR1
PR1
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:12 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby dcz » Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:15 am

No it's not "normal", but it's not really an error either, it's just that bots auth where not properly set on your forum that's all.
The normal thing is that, if no forums are viewable by bots, it's the same for the forum index.

++
Useful links :
SEO Forum || SEO Directory || SEO phpBB || Search
____________________

Liens Utiles :
Forum référencement || Annuaire référencement || Référencement phpBB || Recherche
dcz
Admin
Admin
 
Posts: 21325
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 9:03 pm

Postby GoBieN » Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:50 pm

dcz wrote:No it's not "normal", but it's not really an error either, it's just that bots auth where not properly set on your forum that's all.
The normal thing is that, if no forums are viewable by bots, it's the same for the forum index.

++

Okay i understand that, but this problem just happend recently, without me changing any settings. The only thing i did was update seo to 3.0.2 and installed GYM rss/sitemaps.

Also i would suspect a different error, not an error stating the search is not allowed, this error makes no sens on the index page !
GoBieN
PR1
PR1
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:12 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby SeO » Mon Aug 11, 2008 8:40 am

dcz wrote:The normal thing is that, if no forums are viewable by bots, it's the same for the forum index.


Have you updated you bot's authorisations ?
SeO
Admin
Admin
 
Posts: 6334
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 9:41 pm

Postby GoBieN » Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:45 pm

I have now allowed bots to use the search function. Because i don't know any other solution.

Google is slowly showing correct results again, but I payed big time, my ratings dropped and google is not indexing my pages so good anymore.
GoBieN
PR1
PR1
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:12 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby dcz » Wed Aug 13, 2008 1:36 pm

Have you as well made sure that bots had the right to visit your public forums ?

I know that what's occurring to you right now is far from funny, but it's not related to our mods, authorisation are always to be checked thoroughly if not redone from scratch (since it's a good occasion) when converting.

Keep faith, your indexing should go back to where it was ... with time.

++
Useful links :
SEO Forum || SEO Directory || SEO phpBB || Search
____________________

Liens Utiles :
Forum référencement || Annuaire référencement || Référencement phpBB || Recherche
dcz
Admin
Admin
 
Posts: 21325
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2006 9:03 pm

Next

Return to phpBB Forum

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests